#### Na Hoa Holomoku of Hawaii Yacht Club

# Minutes of December 8th, 2003 General Membership Meeting, Held at Waiakea Settlement YMCA

#### Present:

- Arturo and Juanita Alomar
- Roberta Baker
- Paola, Mauricio, Brunella and Patricio Barbis
- Bob and Anne Beer
- David Bolland
- Barry and Pat Bolln
- Claudia, Peter, Cameron, Marcus and Olivia Boucher
- Clive Cheetham
- Roy and Allie Forbes
- Ed Ha
- Nick and Dorothy Heinrich
- Kevin Horton
- Jim, Sha, Spencer and Chen Johnson
- John Luchau
- Barbara and Kim Magnuson
- John Messina
- Scott Miller
- Lynn Nakkim
- Jon Olson
- Lisa Parr
- Michael Pearson
- Robbyn, Larry and Mary Peck
- Cathy and Dennis Pendergrass
- Henry Peterson
- Ron Reilly
- Bob Rioux
- Nick Rees and Evelyne Schotte
- Paul and Barbara Taylor
- Roberta Vrooman
- Lynn and Vicki Vrooman

### 1. Call to Order:

Meeting was called to order at 19:40 by Commodore Larry Peck.

### 2. Board Elections

The commodore presented the results of the board selection committee. These were to replace the two board members whose terms expire at the end of this year (John Luchau and Kim Magnuson) with:

### 1. Kevin Horton

### 2. Jon Olson

Additionally, the current board members whose terms expire 31 December 2004 were:

- 1. Larry Peck
- 2. Robbyn Peck
- 3. Joel Rutta
- 4. John Messina
- 5. Roy Forbes

And the current board members whose terms expire 21 December 2005 were:

- 1. Joel Rutta
- 2. Mauricio Barbis

It was pointed out that there were no more nominations than positions vacant, but people were welcome to nominate additional directors if they so wished. None were proposed.

The Commodore moved to nominate members on the slate by acclamation. This was passed unanimously.

Accordingly, the slate was then passed unanimously by acclamation.

### 3. Presentation of Trophies

Kim Magnuson presented the trophies for the Fall Sailing season.

Place	Top Crew	Top Junior	<b>Top Senior</b>	Top Volunteer
1	Samuel Rees	Theresa Chylkova	John Luchau	Larry & Robbyn Peck
	Tatania Chylkova	Dominic	Nick Rees	Kevin Horton
3	Chylkova Lynn Nakkim	Albert Chylek	Maurico Barbis	Jon Olson

The Club Perpetual trophy was presented by the current holder, Mauricio Barbis, to Nick Rees for the efforts he made in the sailing seasons and racing events through the year.

### 4. Annual Report

The commodore, board members and club officers gave a verbal report of the clubs year, highlighting:

- 1. We have formed an organization, Hilo Sailing Org, which owns the club boats, but limits the club liability. These boats will be available for general use next year. Conditions of use will be available at the next pot-luck
- 2. Next months meeting will be the second Saturday of January at the beach. Club potlucks for next year will continue on the second Saturday at the beach throughout the year.
- 3. There will be club race days on the fourth Sunday of the month throughout the year. 5 of these will include handicap races for all comers.
- 4. The club BERT site was decimated by the recent storm. The club has decided not to pursue this site and instead is looking at a site closer into Reeds Bay. The latter is

subject to a Memorandum of Agreement between the YMCA and the County. It has also been designated as the site of the Hilo Rotary Centennial project, and they are looking at spending several hundred thousand dollars on improvements to the site over the next year.

# 5. Membership fees

There was a brief discussion on membership dues for next year. Nick Rees proposed that annual membership dues be raised to \$40, and that membership will be increased to \$45 for existing members renewing after January 31<sup>st</sup>. Seconded by Robbyn Peck. Passed by acclamation.

## 6. Adjournment

Larry Peck moved that the meeting adjourned. Passed unanimously. Meeting closed 20:20.